It’s been an absolutely crazy week. I’ve been trying to get all my ducks in a row at work and things there have been, well, busier than ever before. Thursday is my last day at the office and we fly out at around 11am on Friday, first to Ft. Worth and then into Miami. We’re staying there for the night before being driven to our ship for boarding at the gracious time of “about noon.”

I’ve got my packing list, but absolutely nothing packed. I’ll do a massive load of laundry Thursday night and then get packing. The list is a bit ridiculous, but I’m trying to make sure I’m covered entirely. (It’s available for perusal/mockery here: Transatlantic Cruise Packing List.)

I’m definitely excited. For those unawares, the itinerary of the trip on the Carnival Freedom is as follows:

4/25 Phoenix, AZ -> Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX -> Miami, FL
1 Miami, FL 4:00pm
2 Fun Day At Sea
3 Fun Day At Sea
4 (4/29) St. Maarten, NA 7:00am 4:00pm
5 Fun Day At Sea
6 Fun Day At Sea
7 Fun Day At Sea
8 Fun Day At Sea
9 Fun Day At Sea
10 (5/5) Funchal, Madeira, Portugal 11:00am 7:00pm
11 Fun Day At Sea
12 (5/7) Malaga, Spain 7:00am 4:00pm
13 Fun Day At Sea
14 (5/9) Livorno, Italy 9:00am 7:00pm
15 (5/10) Civitavecchia (Rome), Italy, 8:00am Hotel Domus Praetoria
16 (5/11) Rome, Hotel Domus Praetoria
16 (5/12) Rome, Hotel Domus Praetoria
16 (5/13) Rome -> Atlanta, GA -> Phoenix, AZ (2:00pm)

(“Fun Day At Sea” is Carnival’s parlance, not mine, though the 5 days crossing the Atlantic should prove to be an interesting time.)

I’m not sure how often I’ll get to post updates to this. I think I can write them offline and do a burst while I download my email, but that may be putting an awful lot of faith into the ship’s internet. Not to mention that it costs about 65 cents a minute (45 cents with a package of 250 minutes).

More to come tomorrow, and I’ll see if Tony or Evan want accounts here.

